Trust but verify 2008…

Here is something I wrote about a year ago in a post called Trust But Verify

Gasoline at my little station around the corner $2.92 per gal

Milk at my local Wal-Mart $3.98 per gallon

The DOW at noon 13,409.36

Last quater’s economic growth 4.9%

Consumer spending for November, up 1.1%, the highest “jump” since May 2004

Inflation uo 2.2% for the past 12 months

30 year mortgage rate 5.74%

The dollar is worth 0.6967 to the Euro and 0.9930 to the Canadian dollar

Since we are coming to the end of yet another year, I think it is time for an update.

Gasoline at the little station around the corner from my house is $1.63 a gallon for the low end.  But the gasoline at the Sheetz in Streetsboro, Ohio is $1.43 per gallon.

Milk at my local supermarket is $2.98 per gallon.

The DOW today closed at 8483.93, which is really not good.

In the last quarter the economy retracted about .5%.

The dollar is worth .7157 to the Euro and 1.22 to the Canadian dollar.

The 30 year mortgage rate is 5.32%

Last year I could get a loaf of white bread at Wal-Mart for $.99 but now it is $1.19.

I suppose I’ll reference these things from year to year as long as I have this blog.

Leave a Reply

