Books for Christmas…

That is what S gave to me this year.  Books. 

I had made a little list of books that I was interested in and she went out shopping by herself one day last week.  She tried to convince me that she didn’t get me anything off of my list and she even resorted to gift wrapping tricks to throw me off track.  It worked.  I thought she had only gotten me one book when in fact she had gotten me three.

I am most excited about The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression by Amity Shlaes.  I have been waiting for what seemed like so long for it to come out in paperback.  I would have bought it in hardback if I had found it at Half Price Books, but I didn’t.  I don’t buy new books all that often.  Too expensive.  Anyway, I am thrilled to finally have a copy.  I’ll start reading it in a few days, once I finish up with a Lincoln book that I started just before Christmas.  I’ve gotten to hear Amity Shlaes talk about this book on several radio programs and it sounds like it is going to be great.

I don’t mind admitting that I have a total pundit-crush on Mark Steyn.  I find him adorable.  And ever so clever.  Every Thursday he does a guest spot on Hugh Hewitt’s radio show and I hang on his every word.  Now, I’ve only ever read his columns in National Review and his blog posts on NRO, but now I have a copy of his book America Alone: The End of the World As We Know It.  The problem with getting a couple of highly anticipated books at the same time is that I can’t wait to read them and choices must be made.  But I also don’t want to rush through them, they should be savored.

The third book is a bit of risk taking on my part.  I am not a fiction fan, for the most part.  Nor am I much of a popular fiction fan.  But Rush Limbaugh has been pushing the author Vince Flynn on his radio program for at least a year now and it did stir some interest.  I went to the rather elaborate Vince Flynn website but it was difficult to figure out which of his many books is the starting point.  So my Christmas list just ended up saying “a Vince Flynn paperback“.  So, it was totally up to S to make the choice.  She picked Protect and Defend, which looks good.  I hope it is.  Kind of looks like brain candy.  The only problem is that the hero of the book is named Mitch Rapp and I think that is a stupid name.

I will now tell you what I got S for Christmas, just so that you will know that I was able to go toe to toe with her gift giving goodness.  Since S is my most favorite geek in the world, it is only proper that one of her gifts should come from a store called Think Geek (which I will not hyper link since the site only works 20% of the time).  I got her the Rocking With Hawking (as in Stephen) t-shirt that she has been wanting for some time now.  It was supposed to be a surprise, but the package got delivered to our next door neighbor’s house by mistake and he brought it over to our house and handed it right to S.  As soon as she saw the Think Geek return label, she knew what it was.

I also gave her a new Medal of Honor video game.  I think she gets to be a paratrooper or something in this one.  But she sure does love killing the Nazis and she says that the Medal of Honor games are better than the Call of Duty games.  I have no idea because I only think of the Playstation as a football playing machine.

2 Responses

  1. Enjoy reading all your new year books! Protect and Defend is a great Vince Flynn novel. It’s a good book to get into Flynn’s work and although there are some areas where it links back to previous plots it does not spoil previous books (too much), and equally you do not have to read them to enjoy Protect and Defend. If you enjoy it and want to read further there is a book timeline at http://www.vinceflynn.co.uk

    The first book is Term Limits however this is often considered a standalone book as it does not include Mitch Rapp though it does include several other ongoing characthers. The 2nd book (the first Mitch Rapp book) is Transfer of Power.

    Wishing you a Happy 2009!

  2. Thank you for the information about the timeline.

    And thank you for stopping by for a blog visit.

Leave a Reply

