Our nightly walk…

Last night on our nightly walk a deer ran across our path.  A deer, right here in the city.  He then ducked behind some shrubbery and watched us watching him.  Rummy really wanted to investigate the deer but we thought that would be a bad idea.

We now have a set pattern of taking our walk right around eight o’clock.  At 7:45 the dogs get anxious and start barking and running madly around the house.  Once they start doing that, there is no way we can not take them on the walk, even if we are both too full from our seven o’clock dinner to walk comfortably.

We are now up to 1.8 miles, which, if we walked it twice in a row would be equal to the Race For The Cure that we are doing in September.  I find that I am doing quite well with the length of our walks and that I am usually the one who suggests going “one more block”.  The problem I am having is that I have no proper foot wear for this activity.

S has new, comfy, Nike’s for our walks and for sport.  I have found that my Adidas soccer shoes are not actually good for my feet.  Not enough support.  They make my heels ache and the tendons in my ankles hurt like a mother ******.  Not good.  So I pulled out a pair of my old hiking shoes that I bought four years ago at Wal-Mart.  I had worn them out long ago but they still had more support than the Adidas.  Sadly, they gave me a terrible blister on the heel of my right foot.  So, I figured I would walk in my Crocs until we could afford new tennis shoes.  Walking in them isn’t bad if I pull the strap down around my heel to secure the shoe to my foot.  It wasn’t bad until the strap on the left Croc gave me a wicked blister on my left foot.  So, again I return to the hall closet full of shoes I haven’t worn in years…  Out come the really cool sport hikers that I bought three years ago at Wal-Mart (I’m cheap when it comes to shoes).  The thing is, they were so comfortable that I wore them every single day after I bought them.  I wore down their support.  So much so that the other night when I wore them on our walk, I cam home with blisters on the bottoms of my feet — on the big toes, the balls of my feet, the soft pinky toes and the heels.  I am now in desperate need for proper walking shoes.

In the next couple of weeks we should have enough extra cash to purchase a decent pair of shoes for me.  And this time I vow to get real athletic shoes, from a shoe store, not the shoe section of Wal-Mart.

Leave a Reply

