The 2008-09 NFL Season…

I’m sorry, but I just can’t wait for the regular season to begin.  I’ve already signed up for two fantasy football leagues, one with NFL.com and one with Yahoo.  The Yahoo league already has me set up and drafted and I still have to wait 24 days for the season to begin. 

My big fantasy draft excitement: I got Adrian Peterson, Vikings running back.  I feel pretty set in that league, so long as he doesn’t get hurt or suffer through a sophomore slump.  I’ve never gotten one of the elite running backs.  I usually focus on getting Peyton Manning and his stats along with a regular, work horse back, will get me to the fantasy playoffs.  One year it even won me my league.  But I thought I would mix things up a bit this year.

Don’t worry, I am not a total fantasy geek.  I won’t be talking about it all the time or anything like that.  I just enjoy the overall game of football so much and fantasy football feeds that just a little bit.  Some people think that they are football fans, when in reality, they are fans of just their particular team.  I am a football fan first, a Pittsburgh Steelers fan second.  I can still enjoy the season even when “my team” isn’t doing as well as I had hoped.  I watch all of the playoff games and the “big game” even when my team is eliminated.  I love football.

The other night, at the S Family birthday party, there was a discussion of Brett Farve by a bunch of guys who consider themselves big football fans.  The thing is, they hate Brett Farve.  Hate him.  Despise him.  Think he sucks.  Now, you can be turned off by his retirement drama.  You can think he is a prima donna.  You can think he is reckless with the football at times.  You can hate him for always beating your team (like the way I hate Tom Brady).  But, a true football fan has to respect his records, his toughness and his football abilities. I may hate on Tom Brady, but I respect his football IQ, his throwing arm and his 3 “big game” rings.  Unless of course the rings came to him by way of cheating.   

Anyway, I’ve been doing some thinking, watching and reading about the upcoming football season and I am ready to make some predictions*.

Of course the Patriots are going to do well and win their division.  I think that the Colts, if Peyton Manning is healthy, will win their division and the Jaguars will, again, win a Wild Card spot.  I think the Steelers are going to win the AFC North (again).  And the Chargers will win their weak-ass division.  As for the other AFC Wild Card spot…  I’m not sure.  Perhaps I am too fond of Brett Farve and that causes me to believe that the Jets could get it.  Maybe the Browns will.  I don’t think it will be the Titans or the Broncos.

Over in the NFC…  well I’m going to go with the safe thing to say in that the Cowboys are the best team in that conference.  I still don’t think they can win the “big game” and I am not totally sold on Tony Romo’s ability to lead.  I think the Giants are going to get a Wild Card spot.  The Vikings should be able to take the North, easily.  I tend to have more faith in the Saints taking their division than the Buccaneers, but I think the Bucs could get a Wild Card spot.  Then again, the Seahawks are going to win the West, but I truly believe that the Cardinals will be in a position to fight for a Wild Card spot.

The worst team in the NFL will be the Dolphins, again.  Although they are going to have to fight for that title with the 49ers and the Falcons.

 

 

*My predictions are usually incorrect.

Leave a Reply

