The gifts, part one…

So, Mr. & Mrs. S came for an overnight visit.  It was sort of spontaneous, as we hadn’t planned on them coming up until the middle of August.  But they called two weeks ago and offered us a charcoal grill.  I had been planning on buying a new charcoal grill this summer as our old one has long since become a bucket of rust.  But I was just going to buy another $40 cheapy from Wal-Mart.  Nothing fancy.  But Mr. S was offering up a much nicer grill

In fact, he was offering up my dream grill.  Oddly enough, I have been wishing and hoping for a Weber Grill since I was 13 years old.  The Weber Grill is the essence of grill to me.  Always has been, always will be.  I love its roundness.  I love its style of handle.  I love the name.  I love the back yard bbq connotations that the name elicits.  And I promise you that charcoal in a Weber grill smells 85% better than charcoal in any other grill.

I am not a gas grill fan.  Sure, it’s faster and easier to control.  But I have a gas stove and a gas grill just seems like cooking outside.  I want to grill meat.  I love to light up a pile of charcoal cubes and watch them turn gray and then figure out where the best hot spots are.  And when the grilling is done, I like the option of being able to roast marshmallows over the still warm coals.  Charcol grilling is an art form.

Apparently, someone gave Mr. S a super nice Weber Grill for freeBut Mr. S is a gas grill man.  And he has a mighty fancy, stainless steel gas grill on which to cook.  He has no need for messy charcoal.  Since he knew we were going to be buying a grill for the summer, he offered us the Weber for free.  It’s a $300+ grill, my friends.  For free.

This is the Performer model.  You can check out the Weber Grill website, if you like.  Isn’t it beautiful?

It has gas ignition for the charcoal.  It uses those cute little cans of propane, which we have plenty of because they are what we use on our camping stove.  Having used the gas ignition twice now, I have to tell you that I am totally spoiled.  This is the absolute best way to light charcoal.

It has a very nice sized cooking area.  If I ever have to make burgers for twenty, I’m fine.

It has a handy temperature gauge so I’ll no longer have to guesstimate.  That’s a very good thing.  And now I will be able to use my grilled apple pie recipe…

You can store your bag of charcoal right on the grill.  Seriously, this is wicked cool.

And it came with a ton of extras.  There is a grilling bowl extender and a rotisserie attachment that plugs in to electicity so that it can automatically turn the spit.  There are little charcoal baskets to use for indirect heat cooking.  I’m mostly in awe of the rotisserie though.  It also has a “one touch cleaning system” and a cool, removable ash catcher.

I am in love with this grill. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

