On hockey and manning-up…

I am not a hockey fan.  But like with college basketball, I am a finals fan.  “Win or go home” is about all I can get into when the sport plays more than fifty games.  Same with baseball.  I can focus my attention during playoffs, but anything before that is just a waste because there are too many games for most of them to be important.

I bring this up because today is the start of the Stanley Cup finals.  Which I still probably wouldn’t care about because I am not all that into hockey, but the Pittsburgh Penguins are in it.  Got to root for the Pittsburgh teams.  I lived in Pittsburgh back in the 1990’s when they won their previous Cups and it was an exciting hockey time.  Although I really don’t understand why lighting a car on fire or flipping a car over is a celebratory act… 

This morning, S’s brother Gil sent us some photos in an e-mail.  He’s turned into quite the hockey fan over tha past two years.  I think he is trying very hard to be “the sports guy” even though he’s kind of a girl.  He’s such a girl that if you told him to “man up” he would go get an actual man to stand behind.  Anyway the photos involve him posing with a life-size Stanley Cup that he crafted out of aluminum foil.  They also involve him posing with his Mario Lemieux pillow doll and wearing his Sidney Crosby jersey.

So, go Pens!!!!  

Leave a Reply

