Life of the party…

As I said in the previous post, my grandmother loved to drink beer.  Consequently, she also loved to party.  Back in the 50’s through the early 70’s, she and my grandfather would attend weekly dances and big fancy dress parties.  They also loved getting all costumed up for Halloween parties.

I am willing to bet that for this Halloween party they both fought over who was going to get to be the Devil.  Apparently my grandfather lost…

They stopped going to parties together in 1974 because my grandfather died on New Year’s Day of that year.  But she did not stop the partying.  In fact, she most likely resumed it after a short mourning period because she enjoyed it so much and that is what her husband would have wanted. 

Also, I should mention that they were Shriners, which for all the good work that the organization does, really is just a party happy group.

Leave a Reply

