Evicted…

Yesterday afternoon I evicted the groundhog, skunks and oppossum from their home under my garage.  In case you missed it, I wrote about the veritable zoo that is my back yard, here.  In that post I also mentioned that I planned to fill in their front door hole with Quickrete as soon as I could get around to it.  Well, yesterday was the day.  I know that the skunks were down in the hole because the whole yard and inside of the garage stunk the skunky stink.  Don’t worry, I did not trap them.  There is at least one back door that I suspect is in the neighbor’s yard. 

I dumped the bag of Quickrete down in the hole and then hauled out the hose to wet it down.  I was assured by a couple of people that this technique qould work.  I have no idea where the groundhog was while I was doing this and I was afraid he would return before I could finish my work.  Apparently they are scary and vicious and have claws that can shred people.

After the cement has dried, I’m going to go back out there and cover it up with all of the earth and gravel that the groundhog had excavated.

Take a good, close look at this picture…  About an hour after I had gotten the Quickrete in the hole, the groundhog returned.  He’s the brown blur in the center of the picture.  He was going to dig down into the wet cement until I started waving my arms and yelling, “Go away, Mister!”  Actually he turned around and looked at me like I was some sort of crazy person and then he waddled off, probably to his back door.

Leave a Reply

