Oh yes, more books…

I got a new stash of books last week during the kitchen renovation.  I didn’t let myself get sucked into them (unlike S and her saxophone) while the project was going on.  But now I can tell you what I got and what I have started to read so far…

I should tell you that I got all of these books from the Conservative Book Service.  They sent me an e-mail a couple of weeks ago saying that they were having a sale and I could not resist (because I have a serious problem).  All of the books are hardback and all of them were $4.40.  Not too shabby.

South Park Conservatives: The Revolt against Liberal Media Bias by Brian C. Anderson

Applied Economics: Thinking Beyond Stage One by Thomas Sowell

Witness by Whittaker Chambers (50th Anniversary edition with a new forward by William F. Buckley Jr.)

Bully Boy: The Truth About Theodore Roosevelt’s Legacy by Jim Powell

The Real Jimmy Carter by Steven F. Hayward

Scalia Dissents: Writings of the Supreme Court’s Wittiest, Most Outspoken Justice edited by Kevin A. Ring

The Vast Left Wing Conspiracy by Byron York

Conservatism In America Since 1930 edited by Gregory L. Schneider

As I expected, I jumped right into South Park Conservatives.  It is my living room reading for the time being.  I’m reading the biography of Pol Pot in bed and Men In Black: How the Supreme Court is Destroying America in the car.  But I have to tell you, South Park Conservatives is starting out kind of weak.  I find myself thinking I must have finished the damn thing by now and I am only on chapter four.  If you read Bias by Bernie Goldberg, then you have also read the first four chapters of South Park Conservatives.  I really hope it gets better but I have my doubts.

Oh, but I should mention that I read Critical Condition: How Health Care in America Became Big Business & Bad Medicine by Donald L. Bartlett and James B. Steele a couple of weeks ago.  They don’t much care for the “free market” approach to health care that they claim we have been living with but they also don’t advocate the complete socialization of health care either.  They have an interesting idea of creating a quasi-government body, like the Federal Reserve, to handle health care for all Americans.  In theory we would all be covered but the day to day operations of payments and such would be handled by what I call the Med Reserve, and not the politicians in government.  Of course, a tax increase would have to pay for it, but it doesn’t seem as bad as the Canadian or British systems.

I would recommend the book to people who think the current state of health care management is in crisis and even to those who think things are just fine as they are.  It is also an easy read and not filled with too many wonky details (which I found to be a drawback but others might prefer).

Leave a Reply

