The perpetual football season…

It’s been a little disconcerting to see the Browns and the Bengals making free agency moves while the Steelers have done a whole lot of nothing and lost Alan Faneca to boot.  But the Steelers rarely make splashy moves in free agency and I know that, but still I worry.

 But not this morning.  I just read on Pro Football Talkthat the Steelers hosted two draft prospects yesterday.  And really, the Steelers continuing success in the draft is much more fulfilling than anyone available in free agency.  Potential is exciting. 

One of the players that they hosted is West Virginia defensive tackle Keilen Dykes.  He is a very good player and, you know, from West Virginia which makes it even better.  In case you are interested, here is his scouting profile.  Looks perfect for the 3-4 defense, which Coach Tomlin has not changed for fear of having garbage dumped on his front lawn and his children harassed in school.

Now I am even more excited about the upcoming NFL Draft, which is a mere 39 days, 2 hours and 40 minutes away.  It is my favorite holiday.

Madness doubts…

Perhaps I am over thinking it, but now I am worried that I should have taken St. Joe’s over Oklahoma in the first round.

Measuring up…

I should have mentioned in one of my many postings on renovating the house, that I am not so much gifted with the ability to measure things.  Sure, I can ball-park it, but the whole 1/8’s thing stumps me.  For many years I refused to acknowledge any measurements that fell out of the whole or half number range.  Thankfully, I found a tape measure at my local Home Despotthat has all the measurement numbers written out in between the whole numbers.  It has opened up a whole new world of measuring to me.

Sadly, I am still blighted by the whole guess-timate disease.  When I posted the other day about my building of a message center in the kitchen, I guess-timated that it would be 2′ by 6′.  That really did seem like a good guess, to me.  Not so much to S.

S: Two feet by six feet?  Seriously?

Me:  Sure.  Three feet of cork board and three feet of chalk board paint.

S:  Six feet?  No way.

Me: Yes way.  We have a lot of messages to hang.  And my grocery shopping lists are legendary.

S then measured out six feet on the wall.  It looked more like 12 feet to me, but whatever.

S: That’s six feet.  We do not need six feet of messages.

Me: Are you sure that is six feet?  Anyway, we need a whole foot just for the take-out menus. (I did not want to give in)

S:  We have three take out menus.  And you don’t like to try new things so the odds of us even adding a fourth are pretty slim.

Me:  Well, we’ll need lots of space for phone messages…  (Not giving up yet)

S:  You don’t answer the phone.  There are no phone messages.

She totally had me there.  Then she measured out what she thought was a reasonable size for the message center, 2′ by 4′.    Seemed kind of small too me but I did give in.  Once I applied the first coat of chalk board paint, it started to seem quite large.  If she had let me get away with my guess-timate, I would have had a chalkboard fit for a classroom.

There is still some work to be done on the project.  I have to paint the frame today and get it up on the wall now that all the coats of chalk board paint are applied and dried.  They still have to “cure” for three days before we can start writing on it.  The sad thing is that I still have just a tad under a quartof chalk board paint.  Yeah, I pretty much can’t measure how much paint I need for projects either.  Which also explains why I have three un-opened cans of our living room/dining room paint left from that project.  I really thought we were going to need five gallons…