William F. Buckley Jr. 1925-2008…

William F. Buckley Jr, is gone. 

Over at National Review Online, in The Corner, various contributors are writing about him and their words are beautiful.  It must be difficult to write about a man who wrote so well, as if your own tributes could never quite live up.  I implore you to go check out what they are writing.  Those who knew him best and worked with him and shared meals with him are going to write better eulogies than any other source.

I remember a time, back when I was just a kid, I saw William F. Buckley on television.  I must have been channel surfing and when I stopped on the channel he was on, I was mesmeriezed by his voice.  I think I was too young to really understand what he was saying but I was stuck on how he was saying it.  Not just mesmerized, but truly drawn to the man.

It wasn’t until I was out of college that I actually started reading National Review and picked up several books by William F. Buckley.  Reading his words and understanding what he was communicating was life changing.   His collected speeches in Let Us Talk of Many Things absolutely changed my life and my way of thinking. 

There isn’t much more I can write than can convey how I felt about him, so I am just going to read the words of others.

Leave a Reply

