Good-bye Super Tuesday…

I shouldn’t have started out the evening listening to Hugh Hewitt.  He is a Romney man all the way.  It clouds his perspective in reporting exit poll numbers and he doesn’t manage expectations well.  In fact, Hugh actually had me thinking that Romney was going to pull off a miracle win.  Of course, that was at 6:45 pm (est) and I hadn’t yet switched to television coverage.  Hugh is a good man, and he truly believes that Romney should be the Republican nominee.  But it colors his coverage and in the end, it takes away some of his credibility.

Fox News debuted the new election coverage set.  Too much.  There are words rolling and flashing the whole time the anchors and reporters are speaking and your eyes don’t know where to focus.  The new, fancy touch map is cool but the guy working it has odd wrist movements and that is distracting.  Instead of just touching the map screen, he did some weird Vanna White thing.  The Fox News screen is also too cluttered.  There is the ubiquitous scroll at the bottom, the state reporting numbers, the breaking news and then the topic of discussion.  Too much.  And I never got a really good idea of what states were reporting at any given time and what the numbers were because the vote leader wasn’t always at the top of the listing.  Annoying.  But I couldn’t turn away from Fox for too long because I have the biggest crush on Brit Hume.  I love to hear him talk politics.  The addition of Karl Rove and Harold Ford Jr. didn’t do too much for me.  Ford kept looking at his notes and didn’t seem comfortable with what he was saying.  Rove was too smug for the rest of the bunch.

CNN’s election report set is very Jetsons.  I like it because it seems more professional in the sense that you can imagine political scientists using the set to crunch numbers.  But it really isn’t good for the anchors and reporters.  They look out of sorts on the set, like it’s too much for them.  And Wolf Blitzer is too dry.  John King comes across as dumb no matter what he is talking about.  And I am not saying that he is dumb, but his delivery is dumb.  I also had a little trouble reading all the information on the CNN screen because they put it in light blue lettering over a white background.  But the amount of information on the screen at any given time was just about perfect.  If I spent 75% of my time watching Fox, I spent about 15% watching CNN, but Wolf kept losing me.

MSNBC was terrible.  Now, I admit that I have a bias against Keith Olbermann and that is the main reason I stay far, far away from that channel.  S hates Chris Matthews so she doesn’t want him on our TV.  The rest of the crew isn’t so bad, but Pat Buchanan’s eye brows are terribly distracting.  And there is this woman on there sometimes, I think her name is Rachel Maddow, but I could be wrong.  I just don’t like her.  MSNBC didn’t seem to have a fancy election coverage set or maybe it was just too subtle to notice.  Maybe I just missed it because I probably only spent 5% of my viewing on MSNBC.  In general, I think MSNBC is worthless, but I do enjoy watching them pull so hard for Barack Obama.

The last little 5% of my election coverage was spent listening to Hugh’s extended radio coverage.  I have a little radio in the kitchen and I listened in while I set the coffee pot for the morning and packed S’s lunch (she is having soup, crackers, yogurt dried cranberries and a brownie today).  Hugh was really holding out for a Romney win in California.  I went to bed long before the state was called.

Here is how the states voted yesterday:

CLINTON: AR, AZ, CA, MA, NY, NJ, OK, TN
OBAMA: AK, AL, CT, CO, DE, GA, ID, IL, KS, MN, MO, ND, UT

HUCKABEE: AL, AR, GA, TN, WV
MCCAIN: AZ, CA, CT, DE, IL, MO, NJ, NY, OK
ROMNEY: CO, MA, MN, MT, ND, UT

Leave a Reply

