Tools and such…

While there were many bad aspects to having S’s father helping us out with the house, there was one big positive.  The man has mad amounts of tools. And he brought them all along.  He had several saws including a wet saw, hammers and every wrench known to man as well as drills with fancy drill bits and sanders and… The man is the tool section of Home Despot.  It was an awesome display.  No matter what tool I needed at any given time, Mr. S had it.  I got spoiled. 

But then one day in April he came for a visit in his obnoxiously large pick-up truck and took all of his tools away.  He even took the little jig saw, which he said at the start of our renovation adventure, he bought for us.  He was salty in the end so it was no surprise that he didn’t leave it for us.  Consequently, since last April we have had little more than our trusty red tool box.  It’s one of those typical tool boxes and it holds a hammer, several screwdrivers, a couple of chisels, a tiny level, various sized allen wrenches (thanks Ikea), two pairs of pliers and a little ratchet set.  It is suitable for apartment living because it has everything needed to hang pictures or put together a set of bookshelves.  But it’s not suitable for home renovation.

For a house warming gift, my brother gave me a wicked cool drill.  And, really, wicked cool is probably an understatement.  I had also been sanding the kitchen cabinets with the little finishing sander that he let me borrow.  It actually worked better for me than Mr. S’s power sander because it was able to get into nooks and crannies.  But we have been essentially tool-less.  When we had to replace the downstairs bathroom toilet, I bought all the “suggested” tools on the box, none of which I ended up using for installing the toilet.  But now we have a large plumbers wrench, which I’m sure will come in handy some day.  Oh, and for Christmas my parents gave me a slightly more powerful finishing sander in hopes that I will actually finish the cabinets while they are still living.

This past weekend we had renovations on the brain.  Our living room is frigid from cold air coming up through the hardwood from the basement.  We initially went to Lowe’s to investigate our insulating options.  We also have given ourselves a time table for starting our kitchen counter projects so we priced those supplies as well.  One hindrance in the counter project is that we have no way to cut the lumber or cement board.  But I fixed all of that with that one trip to Lowe’s.  Now we have a circular saw (with a laser guide), a jig saw, a level, a man hammer and a crow bar

I’m ready for anything now…  Well, anything except actually cutting anything because it occurred to me that we don’t have saw horses.  I’ll have to get some.

Leave a Reply

