Casting aspersions…

Last spring, S and I were invited to a big, fancy Solstice party.  I hate parties, but we went anyway because the host was my cousin and his mother was our realtor.  We managed to avoid all the fancy-schmancy activities inside the house while standing out on the front porch, around one of those chiminea fireplaces.  Several other cousins of mine were attendance.  I had really only met them one or two other times in my life but they all seemed eager to introduce S and me to cousin Christie who had “come out”  few year back.  No surprise to me — she was so gay at fifteen, sort of a mix of Leather Tuscadaro (Happy Days), Joan Jett and Kristy McNichol.  Anyway, Christie and her partner were fine people and we chatted with them quite a bit.  Christi’s brother and his wife joined us by the fire and someone started showing off a cell phone that played music.  They played the song “Glamorous” by Fergie

Now, S and I have a long standing battle over Fergie.  I like her.  S decidedly does NOT.  But she bought me the cd awhile back and even lets me play it in the car when were together.   There is no doubt that Fergie is gross.  Personally gross and lyrically gross.  S thinks she is too foul.  I think she is so skanky that she has passed over the skanky horizon to an other world where she has been cleaned.  But that’s a discussion for another day…  Or not.  Fergie’s lyrics make S blush.  I find them funny, but they are not songs for children.  Which takes us back to the party…

As the Fergie song was playing on the cell phone everyone talked about some “funny” thing that had happened when they were listening to the song at some other time in some other place.  But the oddest “funny” story came from my cousin’s wife who talked about how her 3 year old loves to dance to the song.  Not only that, but the child knows the words and sings along. 

You know, these words:

If you ain’t got no money take yo’broke ass home
You say: If you ain’t got no money take yo’broke ass home
G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S, yeah G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S

But the mother did explain that she makes the kid sing “bum” rather than “ass” because, well, you know, to do otherwise would be irresponsible.

Leave a Reply

