Renovation tale, part 2…

Pre-destruction 2Pre-destruction

This was the state of the bathroom before Mr. S went upstairs.  Ugly?  Oh yes.  Could we have lived with the ugliness?  Yes, as it was part of the plan.  You see, there is one full bathroom in the house and one half bathroom on the first floor.  The half-bath is just as ugly, but it resides in a room that is 5 feet by 15 feet.  So the plan was to renovate it first and turn in into a full bath with a luxury shower.  That way, we would have a useful, but ugly, bathroom while we created the spare bathroom.  Good plan, no?

Mr. S gave no explanation for why he started to demo the only full bathroom in the house.  We certainly hadn’t asked him too.  We asked him to re-wire our house.  The only wiring in the bathroom is on the sink wall, not the shower.  I was shocked to see what he had done and I didn’t know what to say.  S didn’t either, she just looked like she was going to cry. 

So, we cleaned up a bit and went back to our apartment.  Neither S nor I said much for the rest of the day/evening.  What could we say?  He had ripped the bathroom down to the studs, without asking or even telling us he was doing it.  When I pictured it, it made me sick.  S and I didn’t even really speak to one another over the course of the next 16 hours.  In the morning we got up and found Mr. & Mrs. S sitting at our dining room table drinking coffee. 

We need to talk,” said Mr. S.  We got some coffee and sat down with them. 

What are your plans,” he asked.  Yeah, now he asks what are plans are.  I said nothing while S explained our month long plan.

Well, you aren’t going to be able to move in there in a month.  It’s unlivable.  It’s going to take, maybe three months to get that place even a little livable.”

3 months?  A day before it was move in ready.  Ugly, but move in ready.  But I didn’t say that out loud.

We can’t afford to pay rent, mortgage and utilities for 3 months,” S protested.  And we really couldn’t.

Well, I don’t know what to tell you…  That bathroom is a mess.  It’s going to take me a month to put it back together.  And the wiring, S, is a mess.  That’s going to take a very long time.  I’ll be working as hard as I can, but it’s going to take me about 3 months.”

But we already gave notice on the apartment.  And we can’t afford to pay for both places anyway,” S said.

Call your landlord, he’ll understand.  Besides, it’s not like he’s going to find anyone else to rent this dump place.”

Me, still silent.  And seething as S picked up the phone and called the landlord right there in front of me but without discussing it with me. 

And then Mr. S told us his plan.  “I’ll take your mom home and come back up Monday to stay.  I’m going to get started on the wiring and then I’ll work on the bathroom.  I’ll deal with the kitchen demo too…”

The kitchen is fine,” S protested, “We just need to finish the wallpaper and paint.”

No, the kitchen is awful.  You need new counters and the floor has got to go and that sink is gross…”

We’re going to do all of that, someday,” she said.

Well, you can’t move in there with it the way it is.  It’s unlivable,” he continued.  All through this, Mrs. S was nodding her head in agreement with him.  I just sat and seethed.  S fought the good fight, but she just couldn’t win.  And he was right, the one working bathroom was unlivable… SINCE HE DESTROYED IT!

And so began our little renovation adventure.   

Leave a Reply

