Post Christmas Extravaganza…

S’s family always gives us Christmas money in addition to be overly generous on the Christmas gift front.  I am not complaining, but it is kind of odd to me that someone’s parents, not my own, would give me money.  And it is also odd to get a card with $100 in it and to have it signed Mr & Mrs S.  The sister-in-laws call S’s parents “Mom” and “Dad” but I just haven’t gotten to that point yet, even though S and I have been together 10 years and the other ladies are additions within the past 5 years.  Probably it’s the gay thing.  And really, the formal addressing is the most minor thing we have faced with them, so it’s hardly considered a point of contention.

 Anyway, back to the cash.  S has used most of her Christmas bonus (as I like to call it) to buy these purple Dr. Martens.  She is very excited.  I took my Christmas Bonus to Half Price Books, which is my most favorite store.  Usually I get a small carrying basket when I go into the store, planning on buying just a few books, but this time, I got an actual shopping cart, knowing that I was going to be obscene in my book shopping.  I didn’t quite fill the cart, but when we checked out, the cashier asked if I would prefer he load the books into a big box, rather than using multiple plastic bags. 

Here’s this list of books I purchased…

The Death of Right and Wrong by Tammy Bruce

Judging Thomas by Ken Foskett

Bill Clinton: An American Journey by Nigel Hamilton

John Tyler: The Accidental President by Edward B. Crapol

Pol Pot: Anatomy of a Nightmare by Phillip Short

High Jinx by William F. Buckley

James Monroe by Gary Hart

American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Amongst Us by Steven Emerson

Theodore Rex by Edmund Morris

James Madison by Garry Wills

The Warren Commission Report

A History of the American People by Paul Johnson

I am a book fiend.  I admit it.  I love books.  We have an extra bedroom that we use as an office, but instead of calling it the office, I call it the library.  My next home renovation project is to line the walls of that room with built-in book shelves.  I’m even going to go fancy and put in those halogen spot lights. 

One Response

  1. […] Posted on February 13, 2008 by myrenovations One would think that after my post-Christmas book buying frenzy, my appetite for books would have been satiated.  But no.  A couple of weeks ago S needed to go […]

Leave a Reply

