Auld Lang Syne…

Let me start by saying that S and I have no land telephone line.  Each of us has a cell phone and my cell phone is what we consider to be the house phone, since I am always here and it is the only number we give out.  S’s phone is the emergency phone.  She carries it with her to school and to class and only uses to call home when she needs a ride or can’t use the land line at school.  Her phone always has the ringer off, but is always on.  Somehow a few people (family and friends) have gotten her number and call it as a first resort, not a last resort.  That’s irritating, but we can live with it.

Several months ago two friends of ours were moving out of state for grad school.  A third friend was in charge of planning the good-bye party.  The party planner texted us the time/date/info about the party, but sent it to S’s phone which is almost never checked over the summer.  We missed the party.  Well, missed it in the sense that when she finally called our home phone the day before the party, we had already made other plans that we couldn’t cancel.  I am pretty sure that I explained to her that she should send all future messages to the home phone.  Then again, we don’t see this friend (and I use the term loosely) all that often anyway.

This morning the friend sent another text about another party, but again it was to S’s phone.  I got the message right away because I was in the process of charging it and heard the vibration.  Here’s my gripe about today’s message.  She says that there is a slumber party on New Year’s Eve and then gives the time and address of the party.  But I know the address isn’t hers or any other person that I might possibly know.  She didn’t mention whose house was hosting the party, just the address.  Isn’t that odd?  Why would I want to spend the night at the home of someone I do not know?  What if we just accidentally got the text that was actually meant for someone else?  And yes, I could just call her and ask, but I shouldn’t have to.  And it’s not like we are going to go to the party anyway.  So, I can’t just call and ask questions and then say that we’re busy that night.  But I would like to know.  And I also have to wonder if she bothered to listen to me when I told about the phone number usage a couple of months ago.  Maybe she is only sending an invite because she feels she has to, but sent it to S’s number in hopes that we wouldn’t get the message.  Damn her and her demented text messaging ways.

S and I prefer to stay at home on New Year’s Eve.  If we have to go out, we try to be home by midnight so that we can ring in the new year with just one another.  We like to drink sparkling grape juice and play marathon games of Scrabble.  Sounds boring, I suppose, but we really enjoy it.

I also have this theory that the thing you do or the people that you spend time with on the first day of the year is indicative of how you will spend the rest of the year.  It’s been a pretty solid theory so far.  One year we went over to S’s parent’s house on Jan 1 and then we ended up seeing them  at least every two weeks for the rest of the year (which was a lot considering that was during the time period when they really hated me).  For a couple of years we drove two hours to spend New Years and New Years day with some friends and then for the rest of those two years we ended up seeing them at least once a month all year.  Another year we had a particularly elusive friend over on New Years day and then we ended up seeing her more than a dozen times through the year.  It has also worked when we have just spent the day alone with each other watching movies.  Yep, spent the rest of the year having intense visitations with the video store.

All of that is to explain why I take great pains to plan out what we are going to do New Years day and pretty much pay little attention to how we spend New Years Eve.  Although I can pretty much say flat out that we will not be slumber partying at the house of someone I do not know.  Just think of it…  We would be waking up at the home of a stranger on New Years day and that could very well lead to use being destined to spend the year waking up in stranger’s homes.  Yuck.

Leave a Reply

