Christmas 2007

Not bad, not bad at all, really.  On Christmas Eve we traveled to visit S’s family.  They have a tradition of gathering at the grandparent’s house for a small family party.  It was just her grandparents, parents, brothers and their wives.  Calm and peaceful by all accounts. 

When I first started going to these parties ten years ago I had no idea how to interact with S’s family.  They all drink, a lot.  At first, I did not partake in the libations because we didn’t spend the night there and I was going to have to be driving.  S’s family doesn’t look kindly on people who don’t drink.  It is suspicious behavior to them.  Once we started spending the night for Christmas, I started to drink at the parties.  Two years ago a I drank a lot of beer.  And then S’s whole family started peer pressuring me into doing shots of various hard alcohols.  And sadly, I gave in.  At the end of the night I was wasted like I had never been wasted before.  As we turned in for the night, I lost control of my vomit reflex and puked all over their sofa.  I was ashamed of myself and begged God to put an end to me right then and there.  But the odd thing was, it was a turning point in my relationship with S’s family.  That is the exact moment they finally accepted me and accepted us as a couple.  My boorish behavior was apparently endearing.  My puking on their sofa made me one of them.  Go figure…

Last year, S’s brother D started a new tradition called Christmas Memory.  Essentially it is just like the child’s game of memory but with Christmas related pictures.  We played in couples and it was really competitive.  We were vying to win the “secret gift” which turned out to be one of those clear plastic bowls that you fill with candy or seeds for decoration.  S and I won and were then responsible for bringing the prize gift this year.  Instead of finding some crappy gift, we went to a trophy store and purchased a gold cup on a marble pedestal that we had inscribed with the words “Christmas Cup“.  There are also name plates all around the base so that each year’s winners can be inscribed for further glory.  Whichever couple wins gets to keep the trophy for the year.  It was a big hit.  D & B won this year and the month old marital union of J & L hit the skids when they did so poorly in the game.  Good times…

On Christmas day we traveled for several hours and a whole tank of gas to my brother DK’s house.  Everyone was there and it was absolute pandemonium with the opening of the gifts and the noise produced by my gift for SK.  We only stayed for a few hours, which was a few hours more than I could really handle.  I don’t know why, but everyone seemed to think I was upset when we were leaving.  I wasn’t, really, but it’s frustrating when you want to leave and ten people are asking you not to.  DK walked us out to our overstuffed car and asked, “Why do you have to get back so soon?”  To which I replied, “Because we have been away.”  What was I supposed to say?  Make up a lie?  I just wanted to get home.  I am like that all of the time, it’s called a pattern of behavior.  I don’t know why it always comes as some surprise to my family when I pack up and leave early.

 But we made it home by late Christmas night and I couldn’t have been happier to pull up to our house.  I love our home.  I hate leaving it for any reason, for any length of time.  I love sleeping in my own bed, drinking out of my own coffee cups and using my own bathroom.  I love my things and take comfort in knowing that if I need some Rolaids or an ibuprofen, I know exactly where they are.  I am a home-body and proud of it. 

One Response

  1. […] S like some sort of puppet master (yeah, I sometimes wish I could).  Then things changed with the puking on their couch incident and we have been on decent terms since then.  There are now even pictures of me in their living […]

Leave a Reply

