Greasy egg sandwich…

S is not feeling well this morning.  Not good.  We have so much to do and only today to do it. 

Last night we went to a little cafe in a really charming town (sort of reminded me of Stars Hollow from the Gilmore Girls) to see one of her fellow teachers perform with his band.  Musically they are pretty good.  But they really can’t sing. And I found myself thinking that there comes an age when men shouldn’t sing the Beatles line “She was just 17, if you know what I mean…”   These guys were way past that age.  Thankfully the cafe also had flat screen tv’s with the BYU/UCLA  football game on in HD.  I’d never seen anything quite so beautiful.  I am a football freak and finally seeing a game in HD was almost too much for me to take.

On the way home from our rare night out we stopped at a 24 hour Dunkin Donuts.  I needed something sweet and I knew there was just a small bit of pound cake left at home, not enough to share between the two of us.  I had no idea that S was going to order a greasy egg and sausage sandwich.  If I had known, I might not have stopped.  It just seemed like such a bad idea.  But she got it anyway and ate it with pleasure.  All was well until 4:00 am, when she woke up not feeling so great.  And she still isn’t feeling so great.  I blame the sandwich.  She blames a flu bug that she claims is going around.

I feel bad that I am going to have to press her into action on this ever so busy day.  But we have a security light on the side of the house that needs a new bulb and I am afraid of heights.  We have to get some more gifts.  We have to clean out the car before our holiday travel.  The dogs need to have their nails cut before I sic them on friends and family.  The gifts that we have yet to purchase will need to be wrapped.  We need to pack for our three days of holiday travel. 

And while I blame the greasy egg sandwich for all of this, I am still happy that we stopped to fill my sweet need last night.  When we got home we found that they dogs had managed to get the pound cake off of the counter and left not even one crumb.

One Response

  1. […] like we should go since she has become friendly with this particular teacher.  Back in December we had gone to see one of his bands and it wasn’t an all together unpleasant experience, so I agreed to this […]

Leave a Reply

