Getting started

Generally speaking, I read “professional” blogs, like The Corner from National Review Online.  I’ve grown used to hearing people who are connected and know everything like Jonah Goldberg and K-Lo.  I spend time reading Instapundit, Yonithe Blogger and Joanne Jacobs.  Not to mention Powerline and The Volokh Conspiracy…  These blogs feed my general need to consume as much news about politics and law as I possibly can.  And then I wind down with a little bit of James Lileks who mixes stories from his home life in with his political commentary and his odd interest in 1950’s food photography. 

Not long ago I was trying to describe to my girlfriend what it is that I love about Lileks and I realized that it mostly concerns his entertaining stories about raising his daughter and his odd interactions with his elderly dog.  He makes me laugh and quite frankly has charmed me into quite a blog crush.  With that in mind a couple of days later I followed some links from Instapundit and wound up finding a whole new world of Mommy Bloggers.  Some of them were mildly interesting, some were entertaining and then I found one that I couldn’t stop reading. 

Suburban Turmoil is one of the funniest things I have ever read.  I have seriously spent the bulk of the last three days reading every single post this woman has written (about 2 and a half years worth).  And only four of her posts weren’t quite up to par.  Her blog inspired me to follow her links to her other blogs and even to a few of her recommended blogs (like Busy Mom, which is also good, but not quite as good).  Then I realized that she had also inspired me to start my own blog, which is how I ended up here.

So here we go…  A blog that will include equal parts of stories about my home renovations, my political interests and anything else that strikes my fancy.

3 Responses

  1. Wow, thanks! But now I’m going to go crazy wondering which four weren’t quite up to par… 😉

    You are too kind, though, seriously. I would have put the “not quite up to par” number quite a bit higher!

    Happy holidays!

  2. Hmm…

    She lives down the street from me, maybe I’ll take her out, and, then I will rule?

    Kidding.

    Welcome to the wild world of blogging.

  3. Thank you so much for stopping by! I can’t believe it!

Leave a Reply

